How to Enable Delete File Confirmation Dialog on Windows 11 – Warning Notification

In Windows 11 or Windows 10 when you delete something from your computer. it goes to Recycle bin. It is the thing which a computer beginner already knows from school. But one thing you don’t know is two things can happen. If the file size heavy than the Space Assigned to Recycle bin, users have to delete the file permanently. And, when it is below the capacity of Recycle Bin, then it will be moved there.  For any file that goes into the recycle bin, the user will have the option to restore that file in the future.

The ‘Delete File Confirmation Dialog’ is like a warning notification. This feature simply means when you delete something you have to confirm it. In Windows technical terms we say it is a dialog box that appears to confirm the action you want to delete the file or change it. This system is like the security check that is developed in order to prevent you from accidentally deleting a file or a program permanently from your computer. In the latest version of Windows i.e Windows 11, the Delete file confirmation dialog box is disabled. We have to enable it through the settings.

How to Enable Delete File Confirmation Dialog on Windows 11

As most of the users are totally new to Windows 11 so, they don’t know how to enable Delete File Confirmation Dialog on Windows 11. We are writing down the multiple methods. Through which users can get help in accomplishing this task on their Win 11 computer.

Right-click on the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop and then select.

Enable Delete File Confirmation Dialog on Windows 11

A window will come up labeled as ‘Recycle Bin Properties’. Check the box that says ‘Display delete confirmation dialog’ from there and then click on ‘OK’.

Enable Delete File Confirmation Dialog on Windows 11

Now if you try to delete a file on your computer, you will be presented with a window asking if you are sure about deleting that file.

Enable Delete File Confirmation Dialog on Windows 11

Turn on Delete Confirmation Dialog through Registry Editor

You can also use the Registry Editor to force enable the Delete file confirmations.

Open up the Run window by pressing Windows+r on your keyboard. Then, type ‘regedit’ inside the command line and press Enter.

Turn on Delete Confirmation Dialog

On the Registry Editor window, copy & paste the following text inside the address bar and press Enter. It will take you to a specific file path where you need to create a new registry.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer

Turn on Delete Confirmation Dialog

Right-click on ‘Explorer’ under Policies and then select ‘New’ and after that select ‘DWORD (32-bit) Value’.

Turn on Delete Confirmation Dialog

Rename the newly created registry to ‘ConfirmFileDelete’.

Turn on Delete Confirmation Dialog

Now, double-click on the ConfirmFileDelete registry, and a small window will appear. From there, set the ‘Value data to 1 and click on ‘OK’ and it’s done. You have enabled Delete File Confirmation Dialog in Windows 11.

Turn on Delete Confirmation Dialog

Enable Delete File Confirmation Dialog via the Group Policy Editor

Just like the Registry Editor, the Delete File Confirmation Dialog can be enabled via the Group Policy Editor. The process is also almost similar in nature. Start by searching for ‘Group Policy Editor’ in Windows search and select the ‘Edit group policy’.

On the Local Group Policy Editor window, Under ‘User Configuration’ section, double-click on ‘Administrative Template’.

After that, select ‘Windows Components and then select ‘File Explorer’.

After selecting File Explorer, you will see the ‘Display confirmation dialog when deleting files ‘Display confirmation dialog when deleting files’.

Now, double click on the ‘Display confirmation dialog when deleting files’ policy and when a new window comes up, select the ‘Enabled’ toggle near the top left corner of the window and then select ‘OK’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *